Garn's Guides

A For Andromeda
Home What's New Series Status Series Archive About

Search Garn's Guides

A team of scientists receive a message from deep space which, when deciphered, contains a blueprint for building a supercomputer. When it is built it gives further instruction on the creation of a living being. But what is the ultimate goal of this intelligence that sent the message? Is it to help mankind evolve... or wipe it from existence?

Season One: 7 episodes
1Oct 03/61(UK)The Message
2Oct 10/61(UK)The Machine
3Oct 17/61(UK)The Miracle
4Oct 24/61(UK)The Monster
5Oct 31/61(UK)The Murderer
6Nov 07/61(UK)The Face of the Tiger
7Nov 14/61(UK)The Last Mystery

Season Two: 7 episodes
The Andromeda Breakthrough
8Jun 28/62(UK)Cold Front
9Jul 05/62(UK)Gale Warning
10Jul 12/62(UK)Azaran Forecast
11Jul 19/62(UK)Storm Centres
12Jul 26/62(UK)Hurricane
13Aug 02/62(UK)The Roman Peace
A For Andromeda
Genre: science fiction, drama
Show Type: live action, black & white
Runtime Format: one hour
Current Status: ended
Number of Seasons: 2
Number of Episodes: 13
Broadcast Run: 1961 - 1962
Starring: Peter Halliday
Mary Morris
John Hollis
Noel Johnson
Susan Hampshire (season 2)
David Saire (season 2)
Claude Farell (season 2)
Julie Christie (season 1)
Esmond Knight (season 1)
Patricia Kneale (season 1)
Created By: Fred Hoyle
John Elliot
Broadcast Network: BBC
Production Company: BBC Productions
Country of Origin: United Kingdom
IMDb: A For Andromeda
The Andromeda Breakthrough