Garn's Guides

Home What's New Series Status Series Archive About

Search Garn's Guides

These are tales of the Blackadder lineage, focusing on one Edmund Blackadder, who is always accompanied by his faithful servant, Baldrick. Though each incarnation of Blackadder becomes more cunning then the previous (with a proportional decrease in intelligence in the Baldrick line), they are all conniving, unprincipled cowards. But for all their opportunistic scheming, they often come to a sticky end.

Season One: 6 episodes
The Black Adder
1Jun 15/83(UK)The Foretelling
2Jun 22/83(UK)Born to Be King
3Jun 29/83(UK)The Archbishop
4Jul 06/83(UK)The Queen of Spain's Beard
5Jul 13/83(UK)Witchsmeller Pursuivant
6Jul 20/83(UK)The Black Seal

Season Two: 6 episodes
Black Adder II
7Jan 09/86(UK)Bells
8Jan 16/86(UK)Head
9Jan 23/86(UK)Potato
10Feb 06/86(UK)Money
11Feb 13/86(UK)Beer
12Feb 20/86(UK)Chains

Season Three: 6 episodes
Black Adder the Third
13Sep 17/87(UK)Dish and Dishonesty
14Sep 24/87(UK)Ink and Incapability
15Oct 01/87(UK)Nob and Nobility
16Oct 08/87(UK)Sense and Senility
17Oct 15/87(UK)Amy and Amiability
18Oct 22/87(UK)Duel and Duality
Feb 05/88(UK)Blackadder: The Cavalier Years (quarter hour)
Dec 23/88(UK)Blackadder's Christmas Carol (one hour)

Season Four: 6 episodes
Blackadder Goes Forth
19Sep 28/89(UK)Captain Cook
20Oct 05/89(UK)Corporal Punishment
21Oct 12/89(UK)Major Star
22Oct 19/89(UK)Private Plane
23Oct 26/89(UK)General Hospital
24Nov 02/89(UK)Goodbyeee
Dec 31/99(UK)Blackadder: Back & Forth (millennium special)
Jul 20/83(UK)Blackadder Exclusive: The Whole Rotten Saga (one and a half hour documentary)
Jul 20/83(UK)Blackadder Rides Again (one hour documentary)
Genre: comedy
Show Type: live action, color
Runtime Format: half hour
Current Status: ended
Number of Seasons: 4
Number of Episodes: 24
Broadcast Run: 1983 - 1989
Starring: Rowan Atkinson
Brian Blessed
Elspet Gray
Robert East
Tim McInnerny
Tony Robinson
Miranda Richardson
Stephen Fry
Patsy Byrne
Hugh Laurie
Created By: Richard Curtis
Rowan Atkinson
Broadcast Network: BBC One
Production Company: BBC Productions
Country of Origin: United Kingdom
Official Website: Blackadder
IMDb: The Black Adder
Black Adder II
Black Adder the Third
Blackadder Goes Forth